Assembly Election 2022 Live Updates: Akhilesh Yadav to contest UP polls from Mainpuri’s Karhal

Written by corres2

BJP National President JP Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, UP BJP election in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan, co-incharge Anurag Thakur, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, UP Dy CM’s Keshav Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma, UP BJP chief Swatantra Dev Singh with alliance parties leaders Sanjay Kumar Nishad and Anupriya Patel, at BJP HQ in New Delhi, Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2022. (PTI Photo)

Unsettled over the recent exit of prominent OBC leaders, the BJP on Wednesday brought in its allies Apna Dal and Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal (Nishad party), both representing backward communities, to announce a joint fight in Uttar Pradesh and to highlight the initiatives taken by the party governments at the Centre and the state for the communities.

Flanked by Apna Dal leader and Union Minister Anupriya Patel and Nishad party leader Sanjay Nishad, BJP president J P Nadda said the BJP and the two parties would fight the 403 seats together. However, the leaders did not clarify the seat distribution formula.

Ahead of Assembly election in Uttarakhand, Colonel Vijay Rawat (retd), the younger brother of Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat who was killed in a helicopter crash last month, joined the BJP on Wednesday at the party headquarters in Delhi. He is likely to contest the state polls.

Rawat joined the party in the presence of Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, BJP national general secretary Dushyant Gautam and Uttarakhand BJP president Madan Kaushik.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Wednesday declared a social activist and lawyer Amit Palekar as its chief ministerial face for the 14 February Goa Assembly elections. A new entrant to politics, Palekar, 45, will be contesting the polls for the first time on AAP ticket from the St Cruz Assembly constituency in North Goa.

A day after declaring the party’s two-time Sangrur MP as its CM face for the upcoming Punjab Assembly polls, AAP supremo and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal named Palekar as the party’s CM candidate in the Goa elections. Palekar belongs to the Bhandari Samaj, a numerically strong community among Goa’s OBCs.

Here are some Must Reads for Assembly Elections 2022:

Source link

About the author


Leave a Comment



Confirmed: 43,389,973Deaths: 524,999


Confirmed: 541,966,391Deaths: 6,323,310