Election 2022 Live Updates: Former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar’s son Utpal quits BJP, to contest as independent candidate from Panaji

Written by corres2

Union Minister Pralhad Joshi and BJP Uttarakhand leader Arun Singh announce first list of candidates for upcoming polls at party headquarters in New Delhi on Thursday. (Express Photo by Praveen Khanna)

The BJP on Thursday announced its first list of candidates for the Uttarakhand Assembly election, which is scheduled to take place on February 14. The ruling party announced its candidates for 59 out of the total 70 Assembly seats in the state. Of the 59, only five are women.

In 10 of the announced seats, the BJP has fielded a different candidate to the one fielded during the last Assembly election.

Prominent Dalit leader and Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshiram) chief Chandrashekhar Azad will contest the UP Assembly election from the Gorakhpur Sadar constituency, the stronghold of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Azad’s decision came days after he said talks with the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party for a pre-poll alliance had failed.

“Taking forward the ideology of Babasaheb Dr Bhimrao Ambedkar and Kanshiram sahib… ASP (K) announces Chandrashekhar Azad as candidate from Gorakhpur Sadar ,” ASP (K) election in-charge for Gorakhpur, Mohd Aqib said.

Aam Aadmi Party’s chief ministerial face in Punjab, Bhagwant Mann, will fight the Assembly poll from Sangrur district’s Dhuri constituency. Making this announcement in Chandigarh, AAP state co-incharge and Delhi MLA Raghav Chadha said that Mann had won majority of votes in Dhuri Assembly segment, which falls under Sangrur Parliamentary seat, during 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Forty-eight-year-old Mann, a comedian-turned-politician, is a two-time Lok Sabha MP from the Sangrur.

Source link

About the author


Leave a Comment



Confirmed: 43,407,046Deaths: 525,020


Confirmed: 542,244,966Deaths: 6,323,807