maurya: UP polls 2022: After SP Maurya, minister Dara Singh Chauhan quits Yogi cabinet, but mum on BJP | India News – Times of India

Written by corres2

LUCKNOW: In a second pre-poll jolt to BJP in as many days, UP cabinet minister Dara Singh Chauhan on Wednesday followed his former ministerial colleague Swami Prasad Maurya out of the Yogi Adityanath government after accusing it of “tampering” with the reservation rights of Dalits and backwards. Both Chauhan and Maurya had defected to BJP from Mayawati’s BSP in 2015.
Chauhan, who held the environment and forest portfolio, said in his resignation to governor Anandiben Patel that the BJP government’s alleged apathy towards Dalits and backwards forced his hand. Speculation was rife about his possible exit from the cabinet since Maurya’s resignation on Tuesday.

While Chauhan did not say if he had quit BJP as well, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav lost no time in tweeting an undated picture of him with Chauhan, calling him a “crusader for social justice”. “Chauhan ji ka SP mein sasamman hardik swagat evam abhinandan…(Welcome Chauhan ji to SP with honour),” Akhilesh wrote, signing off with the hashtag “#Mela Hobe” in an ode to Mamata Banerjee’s viral “Khela Hobe” chant during the Bengal elections last year.
Deputy CM Keshav Maurya, too, took to Twitter in a bid to stem what ex-minister Swami Prasad Maurya had predicted would be an exodus from BJP leading up to the polls. “It pains to see a family member getting misguided. All I can say to the honourable partymen (is) not to ride a sinking boat,” he wrote, also requesting Chauhan to “reconsider” his decision.
Chauhan is from the Nonia-Rajput or Lunia sub-caste, categorised as one of the state’s Most Backward Castes (MBCs) and an important electoral cog for parties in the east UP region. His exit from the cabinet and the possible induction into SP could hit BJP’s attempt to consolidate the MBCs that have played a key role in its victory run in the state since 2014. The Nonia community is majorly concentrated in and around the districts of Ghazipur, Mau, Azamgarh, Gorakhpur, Varanasi and Pratapgarh.
Chauhan was elected from the Madhuban assembly seat in Mau for the first time on a BJP ticket in 2017. As a BSP member prior to that, he had been elected to the Rajya Sabha in 1996. He switched to SP in 2000 and got another Rajya Sabha term till 2006 before returning to BSP ahead of the 2009 Lok Sabha elections. He got a BSP ticket to contest the Ghosi seat, which he won by defeating Arshad Ansari.
Chauhan’s political fortunes received a setback in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, where he was defeated by BJP’s Harinarayan Rajbhar. The very next year, he joined BJP in the presence of party president Amit Shah. In the 2019 general elections, BJP failed to retain the Ghosi seat as its candidate Harinarayan lost to the SP-backed BSP candidate Atul Kumar Singh.

Source link

About the author


Leave a Comment



Confirmed: 43,452,164Deaths: 525,116


Confirmed: 545,030,191Deaths: 6,329,092